top of page
Search

How GIS Makes Cool Maps

Updated: Feb 15, 2019


Screenshot of GIS software
Making a map in ArcGIS for Desktop.

Hey guys! I'd like to share something that I find myself telling people all the time about my job: how I make maps.


Here's the short answer: I use GIS.


Geographic Information Systems (GIS): data-driven mapping software. GIS software produces maps with items that are associated with data, like smart maps.


This is the coolest software. If you have GIS software, and you have the data, and you have the know-how, you can add the data and easily format it to create a map that suits your needs.


I am basically an amateur GIS analyst - I'm actually a graphic designer, but I've learned to use this software at work over the past 4 years because we needed maps, and I had the time to learn it. I think it's so awesome. People use GIS not only to create basic printed maps, but online, interactive maps. These are similar to something like google maps - except with very specific data, like in this map of a Public Art walking tour in Minneapolis or this map of the Skyways in Downtown Minneapolis.


GIS is different from Cartography, which is defined as "the science or practice of drawing maps". GIS is different because it specifically involves mapping data.

Example of a map of the twin cities made in GIS.
This is a cool map I made of the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area when I found out that Hennepin County supplies public data online.

At my work we use ArcGIS, a leading GIS software company. As far as I know, there is no consumer version of this software, so as cool as it is, it would probably be difficult to pick up as a side interest. However, like graphic design, or like coding, there is a whole industry for GIS. There are professional GIS developers and GIS users both in my organization, and out in the world using this amazing tool in new ways to analyze and share data.


You can see some other examples of maps I've made on my portfolio page.


So there's your crash course in GIS. Let me know if you have any questions!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Anna Holtman. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page